New Brunswick NJ Simple Assault Lawyer
Defense Attorneys for Assault Charges in Middlesex County, New Jersey
New Jersey simple assault laws are quite broad and encompass a wide range of actions. The acts committed that can be identified as simple assault include: injuring someone, attempting to injure someone, and physically menacing someone in a fight. The Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver is a Middlesex County criminal defense law firm that is exclusively committed to defending clients who have been charged with criminal offenses throughout the state of New Jersey. We often represent individuals charged with simple assault and other charges such as terroristic threats and harassment throughout Middlesex County, including in East Brunswick, Sayreville, Dunellen, Edison, New Brunswick and South Plainfield.
Simple assault is a criminal charge that can result in probation, mandatory community service, and incarceration. As you can see, it is truly vital that you avail yourself of the representation of an experienced assault defense lawyer. Our law firm’s founding attorney, Will Proetta, Esq., has handled literally thousands of charges in Superior and Municipal Courts throughout his career. He and our team of legal professionals can provide you or your loved one with the help needed to end this matter in an efficient and professional way. Contact our Edison office today at (732) 659-9600 for a free initial consultation with an experienced Middlesex County simple assault defense attorney.
Simple Assault Lawyer in Piscataway NJ
Simple assault is a criminal offense in New Jersey and is governed by N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1, which provides in pertinent part that:
A person is guilty of a simple assault if he or she:
(1) Attempts to cause or purposely, knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another; or
(2) Negligently causes bodily injury to another with a deadly weapon; or
(3) Attempts by physical menace to put another in fear of imminent serious bodily injury.
What Happens if You are Arrested for Simple Assault in Middlesex?
Simple assault is defined as a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey. A disorderly persons offense is classified as a misdemeanor. A conviction for a disorderly persons offense carries up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines. As you can see, these are serious penalties that warrant immediate action. If simple assault occurs in a fight entered into by mutual assault, then the charge may be reduced to a petty disorderly persons offense. In addition to the fines and possibility, you can be ordered to attend counseling, perform community service and pay restitution or medical bills. It is also important to note that the “victim” need not sustain any injury for simple assault to be proven under law. Mere threat of bodily injury is enough to warrant a conviction. Sometimes, if the injury is serious or if the victim is a government agent such as a police officer, simple assault will be upgraded to the indictable felony charge of Aggravated Assault. Aggravated assault is punishable by a prison sentence.
Contact Woodbridge NJ Simple Assault Attorneys for Your Defense
If you or your loved one has been charged with simple assault in Middlesex County, including Perth Amboy, Old Bridge, Piscataway, North Brunswick, Monroe, Woodbridge and Cranbury, then take advantage of this opportunity to contact an experienced simple assault lawyer at (732) 659-9600 for a free initial consultation. Our attorneys are ready to build a customized case strategy based upon your needs and the particular facts of your case. Rest-assured that we will keep you apprised of the process and “in the loop” through the entire process. It is our paramount goal to make sure that our clients receive best-in-class legal representation.