Woodbridge NJ Second Offense DWI Lawyer
DUI Defense Attorneys in Middlesex County, New Jersey
Whether it is your second offense DWI, first offense drug DUI, or third or subsequent DWI charge, the penalties associated with these offenses are severe. With this in mind, it is crucial to hire a qualified and experienced New Jersey DWI defense lawyer. At the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver, our attorneys dedicate a major portion of their practice exclusively to defending clients who face DWI charges in Woodbridge, Edison, New Brunswick, Piscataway, Monroe, Dunellen, and throughout Middlesex County.
Will Proetta, Esq., our firm’s founding lawyer is certified in the use and maintenance of the Alcotest 7110, which is the very device used by New Jersey police to measure blood alcohol content (BAC). Furthermore, he is a certified Standardized Field Sobriety Testing instructor. These unique qualifications allow him to carefully scrutinize the state’s case against you as well as the arresting officer’s conduct by challenging the validity of the traffic stop, the arresting officer’s use of field sobriety testing and the Alcotest, and any other areas of protocol in which a thorough understanding of the technicalities of DWI arrests are needed. To build a case strategy with an experienced Middlesex County DWI lawyer today, call us at (732) 659-9600. We are available 24/7 and consultations are always provided free of charge.
Second Offense DWI Defense Lawyer in Perth Amboy NJ
If you have been charged with your second DWI offense in New Jersey, the penalties significantly heightened, and you are likely facing monetary fees between $500 – $1000, a one to two year license suspension, up to 48 hours of jail time, 30 days of community service, and two to four years of an ignition interlock device in your car after your license is restored. However, an experienced DWI attorney may be able to minimize a second DWI charge by seeking to have it classified as a first offense, or even defeat charges outright. For more information, visit our penalties page.
Ten Year Step Down in New Jersey DWI Cases
There is one very important exception in New Jersey DWI cases called the “Ten Year Step Down” rule. According to this policy, if a person’s last DWI conviction occurred 10 years or more before their current DWI charge, they will be subject to the penalties associated with one less prior conviction. For example, if you are charged with a second DWI offense and 10 years have passed since your first DWI conviction, you will be sentenced to the penalties associated with a first, as opposed to a second, DUI offense. So instead of facing a two-year driver’s license suspension and the other penalties explained above, you would face a maximum of one-year license suspension and the other penalties incurred with a first DUI conviction. An experienced DWI attorney can examine the circumstances of your specific situation and apply for a re-classification under the Ten Year Step Down rule if it applies in your case.
Contact a Monroe NJ Second DUI Attorney for a Free Consultation
As you can see, the penalties associated with a 2nd Offense DWI are severe and increase greatly from the first offense. Therefore it is necessary to hire a lawyer who will fight the state’s case against you. Regardless of whether it is your first offense, second offense, or third offense DUI or DWI, the attorneys at the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver can help. Call (732) 659-9600 for a free consultation. Also, please refer to our Middlesex County DWI Resource page for more information on Driving While Intoxicated or DUI Law in New Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, or access some of the resources provided below.
Additional NJ DWI Information
Middlesex County Towns Served
|Underage DWI||Perth Amboy NJ DWI Lawyer|
|Drug DUI||Woodbridge New Jersey DWI Lawyers|
|Field Sobriety Tests||Monroe NJ DUI Defense Attorney|
|Alcotest 7110||Cranbury NJ Drunk Driving Attorneys|
|Ignition Interlock Device||East Brunswick NJ DWI Lawyer|
|Third Offense DUI||And more…|