Marijuana Possession in North Brunswick NJ
North Brunswick Marijuana Possession Charge Lawyers
We all know that North Brunswick is a great place to live and raise a family. You may be a resident and enjoy the schools, bars, coffee shops, or the overall liberal atmosphere that this popular town offers. Despite the openness of minds in the township, the laws against possession of drugs such as marijuana have not been abolished and the substance remains illegal in Middlesex County and New Jersey as a whole, provided you do not have a prescription from a licensed physician. In fact, many teens attending public schools such as North Brunswick Township High School have been arrested and charged with possession of marijuana under N.J.S.A. 2C:35-10(a). Any person under the age of 18 can be charged with an offense for which an adult can be charged under the New Jersey Criminal Code. In fact, adults and minors alike are charged with marijuana possession and more severe drug crimes in North Brunswick on a regular basis. Notably, the court that a child will attend is different than those of adults. Instead of the Middlesex County Superior Court, Criminal Part for fourth degree marijuana charges, or North Brunswick Municipal Court for a disorderly persons marijuana possession offense, a juvenile will receive a notice to attend Middlesex County Family Court to address an act of juvenile delinquency. If you or a loved one has been summoned to appear as the defendant in a North Brunswick marijuana case, our distinguished team of lawyers is poised to defend your rights. Call (732)-659-9600 now or contact us online for a consultation free of charge.
Marijuana Possession Charges in North Brunswick NJ
If the defendant is 18 or older at the time of conviction for the fourth degree crime of possessing greater than 50 grams, then this record is public and can be disclosed. Aside from being disclosed, the court could sentence him or her to as much as 18 months in State prison, $25,000 in fines, and suspension of his or her license. For possession involving less than 50 grams of marijuana, the possible jail time is lowered to 0-180 days, $1,000 in fines, and a loss of license for 6-24 months. In some cases, the potential exposure to consequences can be reduced by the charges being downgraded. Due to the lesser penalties, a marijuana case is better off when remanded to Municipal Court. If eligible, a person charged with marijuana possession can take advantage of the conditional discharge program and have the charges dismissed.
A court diversion program is only available to a person one time, regardless of the person’s age. So, if you receive a conditional discharge for one case and then get caught with pot at Rutgers, you will not be given the opportunity for a conditional discharge or Pre-Trial Intervention again. For this reason, it is important to think carefully and consider all of your options before using up your one and only chance for a diversionary program. Additionally, similar diversionary programs are available to youth offenders in the family court, which can also result in dismissal. More importantly, an adjudication of delinquency for any offense, including marijuana, is not a conviction and cannot be disclosed or made public. Therefore, on your job or your college applications, you do not have to disclose this information, as an adjudication is not a conviction.
Court Appearances for North Brunswick Marijuana Offenses
Anyone 18 and older at the time that a charge for possession of marijuana is filed, will attend either the Superior Court in Middlesex County or North Brunswick Municipal Court. Cases involving disorderly persons offenses for possession of less than 50 grams are sent to Municipal Court, whereas those with larger quantities head to the Superior Court.
A minor charged with possession of marijuana must attend the Middlesex County Superior Court, Family Division as directed and he or she must attend with a parent or guardian. Surprisingly, if you or your child do not attend court as directed, a bench warrant for your child’s arrest can be issued. Juvenile cases of delinquency are expected to be heard expeditiously so that rehabilitation can occur sooner rather than later. This may be why bench warrants can be issued for failing to appear. However, such warrants can happen to anyone, young or old, when the person misses a required court appearance.
Charged with Marijuana in North Brunswick? Contact us Today
It does not matter whether you are an adult, a teen, a parent of a teen, or just a concerned family member, our North Brunswick defense lawyers have your back when it comes to marijuana charges. We will fight for your rights and seek the best result possible. For further information, please call us today at (732)-659-9600. The consultation is free and confidential.