• Free Initial Consultation
  • Conveniently Located in Edison
  • We Accept all Major Credit Cards
  • Available 24/7
Se Habla Español

Edison Office

(732) 659-9600

Middlesex County

Criminal Defense Lawyer

Our Law Firm Has Successfully Handled Thousands of Criminal, DWI, and Municipal Charges in New Jersey


Call A Lawyer Now Call A Lawyer Now

New Jersey DWI Penalties

Plainsboro NJ DWI Penalties Defense Lawyer

DUI Attorneys in Middlesex County, New Jersey

New Jersey takes DWI offenses very seriously and this is directly reflected in the extremely harsh penalties such as a mandatory license suspension – no matter your offense or BAC reading. However, the length of suspension and other penalties such as an installation of an interlock device will vary depending on certain factors. Please see the following chart to get an idea of what New Jersey DWI and Refusal penalties entail:

 

First DWI Offense in New Jersey

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

License Suspension

Fines and Assessments

Prison Term

.08% – .99%

Three (3) Months

$805- $1005 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)

Up to 30 days

.10% and higher

Seven (7) Months

$755- $905 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)

Up to 30 days

Second DWI Offense in New Jersey

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

License Suspension

Fines and Assessments

Prison Term

.08% and higher

Two (2) Years

$1,055- $1,555 plus $1000/ year surcharge (for 3 years)

48 hours- 90 days

Third or Subsequent DWI Offense (within 10 years of 2nd offense)

Blood Alcohol Content (BAC)

License Suspension

Fines and Assessments

Prison Term

.08% and higher

Ten (10) Years

$1,555 plus $1,500/ year surcharge

(for 3 years)

180 days

Other less obvious penalties include:

  • Mandatory drug or alcohol counseling programs
  • Family and work constraints due to loss of license
  • Loss of income as a result of jail time or loss of license
  • Implementation of an Ignition Interlock Device
  • Damaged personal and professional reputation

 

Contact South Plainfield NJ DWI Defense Attorneys for More Information

If you would like to learn more about how we can help you combat your DWI charges in Middlesex County, then contact our office at (732) 659-9600 for a free consultation with an experienced defense attorney who can answer all your questions and address any concerns. We have representatives available 24/7 to answer your call. You can also follow the links provided below to access additional information about issues and locations that may coincide with your case.

Additional NJ DWI Information

Middlesex County Towns Served

Underage DWINew Brunswick NJ DWI Attorneys
Drug DUIPiscataway New Jersey DUI Lawyer
Refusal ChargesWoodbridge NJ DUI Attorney
Alcotest 7110East Brunswick NJ Drunk Driving Attorneys
Ignition Interlock DevicesSouth Brunswick NJ DWI Lawyer
NJ Field Sobriety TestsAnd more…