New Brunswick NJ DWI Lawyer
The fallout from a DWI arrest in New Brunswick, NJ can be stressful and confusing. New Brunswick continues to crank down on drunk drivers. As the City of New Brunswick continues to expand, so does its’ policing. The area is now heavily patrolled by a combination of officers from the Rutgers PD and New Brunswick PD. These cops know firsthand how crazy the streets can get at night especially in the downtown area and around campus with the house parties and when the bars let out. Many local students avoid driving by walking or taking public transit from party to party but often times friends from other schools come to visit and make the unfortunate decision to drive after a few too many drinks. The local cops are constantly on the lookout for suspected drunk drivers who may be weaving or failing to follow the rules of the road. The other thing you should be cautious of is getting into an accident. Every year dozens of people are arrested for DUI in New Brunswick simply because they got into an accident and the police were called to the scene. As anyone who has been to New Brunswick or Rutgers knows well, the parking situation can be a nightmare and often times this can lead to minor fender benders on the busy and packed streets. If you smell like alcohol when the cops arrive, you will be arrested for DWI.
What Are The Penalties For A DWI Conviction In NJ?
In New Jersey, a DWI conviction can result in a mandatory loss of driver’s license for up to 6 months and/or installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, even for a first time offender. The period of time for the loss of license and ignition interlock device is typically dictated by your BAC (breath reading) at the time of your arrest. For instance, a .09% BAC is only punishable by a 90 day period of ignition interlock device in your car for a first offense. Whereas just one point higher, for a .10% is punishable by a minimum of 7 months up to 12 months of an ignition interlock device. When your BAC meets or exceeds the 0.15% point, you face a loss of license for 4 to 6 months, plus another 9 to 15 months of an ignition interlock device. Of course, penalties increase with each subsequent offense. For example, a third DWI offense is punishable by a mandatory 8-year license suspension, followed by 2 to 4 years of an ignition interlock device. For your convenience, we have provided a more comprehensive chart of the penalties for each DWI offense in this linked article. Moreover, it should also be pointed out, that aside from a mandatory suspension and/or ignition interlock device, you will be exposed to other consequences which can include community service, mandatory drunk driving courses, thousands of dollars in fines and surcharges, and the damaged reputation or “stigma” often associated with this conviction.
How Can A New Brunswick DWI Lawyer Help Me?
If you have been pulled over and subsequently charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in New Brunswick, New Jersey, then it is important that you avail yourself of the options before you to best defend yourself against the charges that you face. An experienced New Brunswick DWI defense attorney will challenge the state’s case against you in an attempt to create leverage against the prosecutor in order to gain diminished penalties or even a complete dismissal. At Proetta & Oliver, our attorneys have successfully handled hundreds of DWI cases over years throughout New Brunswick, Middlesex County, and New Jersey. The firm’s founding attorney, Will Proetta, has credentials that include certification as a Standard Field Sobriety Testing Instructor (SFST) and certified Alcotest operator. This provides our attorneys with insight into the intricate technicalities and protocol that the state must adhere to in order to bring a case against you. To learn more about how we can help you or your loved one, please contact us online or call (732) 659-9600 for a free initial consultation. Our experienced Middlesex County DWI lawyers stand ready to help lay out a case strategy customized to the unique facts of your case.
Arrested for DWI in New Brunswick
Despite covering less than six square miles, New Brunswick sees a disproportionately large number of DWI arrests each year. This is attributed to the town’s vibrant nightlife and the proximity of Rutgers University. These factors contribute to approximately 15 DWI arrests per month in New Brunswick. If a State Trooper, Rutgers police officer, or New Brunswick police officer has stopped you for drunk driving in New Brunswick, then you will be required to appear in New Brunswick Municipal Court to defend against the charges. The court date for your first appearance should be written on your ticket. If the date is not there or the ticket is illegible then you should contact the court immediately because these court dates can within days of your DWI arrest. In some rare cases if there was an accident and someone was injured or if you ran from the police after they ordered you to pull over then you could be charged with an indictable crime and the case could be sent to the Middlesex County Superior Court.
What to Expect At The New Brunswick Municipal Court
New Brunswick Municipal Court is in the business of processing traffic tickets and minor criminal charges and business is good. The court hears thousands of tickets throughout the year and employs a team of prosecutors and three judges to get through the mountain of defendants. This is why the New Brunswick Municipal Court has multiple sessions every day with the exception of no court on Fridays. These sessions are normally packed with a crowd of defendants in the court room getting arraigned and a long lines of people in the hallway waiting to speak with prosecutor or public defender. Therefore, you should be prepared for several hours to a full day in court on the day of your appearance. DWI cases are often the most severe and complicated ordeals that the municipal court handles so it is common for them to require multiple appearances over several months.
Contact our New Brunswick NJ DUI Defense Attorneys for More Information
DWI offenses are often severe and difficult to challenge in New Jersey. The state does not allow any plea-bargaining for individuals charged with DUI. Additionally, defendants do not get a jury trial, but rather the municipal judge is exclusively responsible for ruling on the merits and proofs of the case. Finally, the administrative office of the courts (AOC) mandates that the municipal courts resolve these cases within 60 days of the DWI arrest. Thus, the defendant is in a tough position to receive all the evidence, analyze, and strategize an aggressive defense. This is why it is that you retain an attorney involved ASAP. There is a voluminous amount of work that must be done in a relatively short period of time. Please call us at (732) 659-9600 for a free initial consultation with an experienced New Brunswick DWI defense lawyer who can explain your options and address your concerns.
Related New Brunswick NJ DWI Information:
|New Jersey Refusal Charges||Drug DUI in New Brunswick|
|Second Offense DWI||Underage DWI|
|Rutgers DUI Lawyers||Third Offense DWI|