Metuchen NJ DWI Attorney
If you have been arrested in Metuchen for Driving While Intoxicated, then chances are you have a lot of questions and concerns. One thing is certain, you need to hire an experienced drunk driving defense lawyer to vigorously defend your charges. Fighting a DUI is a difficult uphill battle that can take months of court appearances and litigation. Our goal at the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver is to aggressively defend every client’s case by challenging the state’s evidence at every turn. Our lawyers are able to accomplish this diligent work through experience, knowledge and a unique skill set that few attorneys in the entire state of New Jersey can match. Our founding attorney, Will Proetta, is a certified instructor of the SFST’s (standard field sobriety testing) in accordance with the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. SFST is the protocol used by all New Jersey local and state police to administer to suspected DWI drivers. In addition, Mr. Proetta has been trained by Draeger Industries, the manufacturer of the Alcotest machine, on its functionality, design, and maintenance. The Alcotest is NJ’s version of the Breathalyzer. If you would like to learn more about how our attorneys can assist you or your loved one with these charges, please contact us at (732) 659-9600. Every initial consultation with an experienced DWI defense lawyer is free of charge.
Drunk Driving Stops in Metuchen New Jersey
Though tiny, the Metuchen Police Department and state police are very active on Route 287, Route 27, and CR 531 writing a significant number of tickets every year. In the event that you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated then you will be summoned to appear in the Metuchen Municipal Court. The Metuchen municipal prosecutor is not allowed to offer any plea-bargaining for DUI defendants in line with the guidelines of the AOC (administrative office of the courts). As such, fighting a DWI charge on your own very difficult. Worsening your situation is that you are not allowed a jury trial for drunk driving charges in New Jersey. Rather, your guilt or innocence will be decided at the sole discretion of the municipal judge. There is a mandatory loss of license for even a first time offense and additional penalties, including an interlock device installed in your car, mandatory drunk driving classes, community service, and thousands and finds and surcharges, are possible consequences. Therefore, it is highly recommended that you avail yourself of the abilities of a skilled and aggressive DWI lawyer.
Metuchen NJ DWI lawyer
The mandatory penalties for first, second, and third offense DWIs are actually built in to the New Jersey statutes. This means that, unlike other charges that leave sentencing to the judge’s discretion, judges must sentence according to statute. For example, if your BAC reading is a .08% or .09% then you will lose your license for a mandatory 90 days for a first offense. However if you’re reading is a .10% or higher, then you will lose your license for at least seven months and up to one year for the same first offense. In regard to a second offense DWI, you will lose your license for a mandatory two years and be subject to a mandatory installation of an interlock device in your car. The chance of jail time increases sharply as well. Third offense DWI charges result in a mandatory 10-year loss of license. Further, you will go to Middlesex county jail for a mandatory six months. As illustrated above, the penalties in New Jersey are severe. If you are facing these charges then you need a tough and experienced DWI defense attorney to fight them. To speak with our lawyers and build a case strategy, please contact us at (732) 659-9600 for a free consultation.
Related Metuchen DWI Info:
|NJ DWI Home Page||New Jersey Refusal Charges|
|DWI Penalties||Underage DWI|
|First Offense DWI||Drug DUI|
|Second Offense DWI||Standardized Field Sobriety Testing|
|Third (or Subsequent Offense) DWI||Ignition Interlock Device|