New Brunswick NJ First Offense DWI Lawyer
DUI Defense Attorneys in Middlesex County, New Jersey
Whether it is your first offense DWI, second offense DWI, or third or subsequent driving while intoxicated charge, the penalties associated with these offenses are severe. As such, it is critical to seek out and retain a skilled and experienced New Jersey DWI defense lawyer. At the Law Offices of Proetta & Oliver, our attorneys dedicate a large portion of their practice exclusively to defending clients who face DWI charges in New Brunswick, Piscataway, Woodbridge, Plainsboro, Old Bridge, Perth Amboy and throughout Middlesex County.
Will Proetta, Esq., our firm’s founding lawyer, is certified in the correct use and maintenance of the Alcotest 7110–the very device used by New Jersey law enforcement to measure BAC. Further, he is a certified instructor on Standardized Field Sobriety Testing. These unique qualifications allow him to carefully scrutinize the state’s case against you as well as the arresting officer’s conduct. To discuss your case with one of our highly knowledgeable DUI defense attorneys today, contact our Edison office at (732) 659-9600 for a free consultation.
First Offense DWI Attorney in Edison NJ
The penalties associated with a first offense of driving while intoxicated (DWI) in New Jersey depend upon the level of intoxication. The legal limit in New Jersey is .08% Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). Therefore, if you or your loved one is charged with DWI and your BAC is between .08% and .10%, then you face a fine of $250 to $400, a three-month period during which an ignition interlock device must be installed in your vehicle, and up to thirty days in jail. The penalties associated with a first offense DWI significantly increase if your BAC was greater than .10% at the time of arrest. In this case, you or your loved one faces between seven months and one year of an interlock device mandatory in your vehicle, $300 to $500 in fines, and up to thirty days in prison. Furthermore, you will be required to spend 12-48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. Drivers who have a blood alcohol content of 0.15% or higher during their first DWI may also be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle during the period of license suspension (which ranges from 4 months to 6 months) and between 9 months and 15 months following license restoration. Please click here for more information on DWI penalties.
What if my First DUI was in a School Zone?
If you have been charged with a first offense DWI in a school zone, the consequences associated with a conviction are even more severe than for a typical first DUI offense. While the penalties described above are harsh enough, there are enhanced penalties when a DWI occurs within 1,000 feet of a school property or at a school crossing. As opposed to an interlock device for between three months and fifteen months depending on your blood alcohol content, first DWI in a school zone entails a mandatory license suspension ranging from one year to two years. Additionally, the fines for a first DUI increase to between $600 and $1,000 when the offense happens within 1,000 feet of property used for school purposes. Notably, the fact that you didn’t know you were driving under the influence in a school zone is not considered a valid defense.
Contact an Old Bridge NJ First Offense DUI Lawyer for Answers
As you can see, the penalties associated with a First Offense DWI are severe and increase in severity by additional offense. Therefore, it is necessary to hire a lawyer who will fight the prosecution’s case against you. To build a case strategy with an experienced Middlesex County First Offense DWI lawyer, call us at (732) 659-9600. Also, please refer to our Middlesex County DWI Resource page for more information on Driving While Intoxicated or DUI Law in New Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, or access some of the resources provided below.
Additional NJ DWI Information
Middlesex County Towns Served
|Second Offense DWI||Cranbury NJ DWI Lawyer|
|3rd Offense DUI||Sayreville New Jersey DWI Lawyers|
|NJ Refusal Charges||North Brunswick NJ DUI Attorney|
|Ignition Interlock Device||Milltown NJ Drunk Driving Attorneys|
|Standardized Field Sobriety Testing||Monroe Township NJ DWI Lawyer|
|Alcotest 7110||And more…|